The Information Literacy User's Guide (OER Textbook)

This book is arranged using a model called the SCONUL Seven Pillars of Information Literacy ( ). The model was developed in the United Kingdom, and revised in 2011, to reflect today’s information world. As you would expect, its visual representation shows pillars, each one labeled with a one-word access point to a larger concept. The pillars, with short explanatory descriptions, are 

  • Identify (understanding your information need) 

  • Scope (knowing what is available) 

  • Plan (developing research strategies) 

  • Gather (finding what you need) 

  • Evaluate (assessing your research process and findings) 

  • Manage (organizing information effectively and ethically) 

  • Present (sharing what you’ve learned)

From The Information Literacy User’s Guide